Jim Wahlberg Memorial

Dr. Jim Wahlberg provided longstanding service to and leadership in social work and social work education. He served on CSWE's Commission on Accreditation (COA) for two consecutive terms, 1992-1998. As a commissioner, he undertook the task of developing evaluative grids required for the self-study process, used by both social work programs across the country and the COA.

While on the Commission, he also chaired the Site Visitation Committee and made commissioner site visits to 17 programs that were applying for initial accreditation. Over an 11 year period he provided consultation to eight additional social work programs. He was a member of and held leadership positions in the North Dakota Conferene on Social Welfare for 30 years and was active in North Dakota's Chapter of NASW for 27 years. He was a member of BPD from 1984 until his death and additionally served on the BPD Board of Directors for two, two-year terms. He also chaired the BPD Nominating Committee. Because he was active in the health and wellness component of the BPD conferences, the Jim Wahlberg Walk-Run has become a permanent part of the annual conference.

Wahlberg Dean's Scholarship

The Jim Wahlberg Dean's Scholarship is provided to the recipient of the Jim Wahlberg Memorial Award. The selection process is conducted by The Association of Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors (BPD).
The BPD Board of Directors annually invites all BPD members to encourage outstanding BSW students to submit a proposal for the Jim Wahlberg Memorial Award. The recipient will present his/her paper at a special invitational session during the BPD Annual Conference. Conference registration, transportation, and one night hotel stay will be paid by BPD for the selected presenter, as well as a $250 honorarium and plaque.

** Recipients will be eligible for a full tuition Dean's Scholarship to the University of Michigan School of Social Work MSW program. Students can receive the Wahlberg Scholar Award without entering the University of Michigan, however, the full tuition scholarship requires successful completion of the University of Michigan MSW program application and an offer of admission. The recipient will also need to maintain good academic standing while enrolled in the MSW program at the University of Michigan School of Social Work to maintain the full tuition scholarship.

Previous Wahlberg Scholars

Sarah Rumbarger (2015)
Barbara Carroll (2014)
Emily Aerts (2013)
Staci Beukers (2012)
Dana Davenport (2011)
Elizabet Medina (2010)
Patricia French (2009)
Leah Zellers (2009)
Cheri Pace (2008)
Desiree Martin (2007)
Lauren Smitherman (2006)
Katherine Vance (2005)
Thomas Singleton (2004)

Ron Federico Memorial Lectures

Ronald Charles Federico
(1941- 1992)

 Ronald Federico was a leader in the development of undergraduate social work education. As a teacher, program administrator and scholar, he helped shape social work education at the baccalaureate level. A native of the Bronx, New York, he received an undergraduate degree from Yale University, his MSW from The University of Michigan, and a PhD from Northwestern University.

Federico served as director of three undergraduate programs. He also served on the board of directors of the Council on Social Work Education, was instrumental in the development of The Association of Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors, and was a member of the BSW Task Force of NASW.

Federico provided curriculum consultation to countless social work education programs and served as a mentor to a generation of undergraduate social work educators. He is co-author of Educatin Baccalaureate Social Work (volumes 1 & 2) and Human Behavior: A Perspective for the Helpling Professions (1982; revised 1985 and 1991), and author of many other books, including Social Welfare in Today's World (1990).

Previous Award Recipients

David Reichert (1995)
Ruth Ylvisaker (1996)
Linda Moore (1997)          
Wayne Johnson (1998)
Stephen Aigner (1999)
Bradford Sheafor (2000)
Lon Johnston (2001)
Wayne Evens (2002)
Dean Pierce (2003)
Mildred Joyner (2004)
Tina Hancock (2005)
Paul Stuart (2006)
Rich Furman (2008)
William Powell (2009)
Lori Messinger (2010)
Mary Swigonski (2011)
Susan Kosche Vallem (2012)

Federico Award Presentations

Professional Recognition Awards

The Association of Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors, Inc. (BPD) created the following three professional development awards in 2005. These awards are made annually and presented at the Association's Annual Conference.
  • The Significant Lifetime Achievement in Baccalaureate Social Work Education Award- Acknowledges a baccalaureate social work educator's achievement over his or her entire career.
  • The Distinguished Contemporary Contribution to Baccalaureate Social Work Education Award- Recognizes a baccalaureate social work educator's achievements within the past ten (10) years.
  • The Outstanding Social Work Program Director Award- Recognizes a current baccalaureate social work program director for his or her achievements.

Mit Joyner Gerontology Award


The Association of Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors, Inc. (BPD) and the Association for Gerontology Education is Social Work (AGE-SW) created this award in 2005 to honor Mildred (Mit) Joyner for her leadership and vision of gerontology in baccalaureate social work education. The purpose of the award is to promote leadership in gerontological social work practice for undergraduate students through scholarship, best practices and/or community connections.
BSW students, social work field instructors who work with BSW students and faculty who teach in BSW programs are eligible to be nominated for this award.

Previous Award Recipients

Catherine Tompkins (2006)
Stacey Kolomer (2008)
Joy Swanson Ernst (2009)
Esther Langston (2010)
Teri Kennedy (2011)